Special Ops

The US Army Special Operations Command (USASOC) comprises of about 22,000 soldiers in seven major subordinate entities within the command:

  1. U.S. Army Special Forces Command (Airborne) - Also known as the Green Berets, this organization is a regionally and culturally tailored collection of several groups that are experts in unconventional warfare, direct action, special reconnaissance, foreign internal defense and combating terrorism.
  2. U.S. Army John F. Kennedy Special Warfare Center and School - This center (located in Fort Bragg, North Carolina) is in charge of the special operations training for all of the USASOC organizations.
  3. 75th Ranger Regiment - The premier light infantry force in the US Army, is comprised of three regiments available for many direct action missions on a moment's notice.
  4. U.S. Army Special Operations Aviation Command - In charge of the aviation equipment and personnel required by the various US Army special operations organizations.
  5. 95th Civil Affairs Brigade (Airborne) - When special operations groups spring into military action, the civil affairs personnel interact with the civilian government and population to minimize the impact of the military operation on their lives.
  6. 528th Sustainment Brigade (Airborne) - During military actions by other special operations groups, the sustainment brigade provides state-of-the-art communications, as well as medical and logistical support.
  7. 4th Military Information Support Group (Airborne) - The group is composed of four regionally-specified Strategic PSYOP Battalions, a Tactical PSYOP Battalion, and a Dissemination PSYOP Battalion that are in charge of conveying information to enemy and allied personnel.
Share this